HomeХобби и стильRelated VideosMore From: Gentleman's Gazette

Best Watches Under $100 For Men - Wristwatch Guide, Review & How To Buy

2766 ratings | 343586 views
To buy all the watches mentioned in the video and for more check out our complete guide to watches under $100 here: https://gentl.mn/inexpensive-watch-guide #watches #budgetwatches ##notsponsored To get the accessories I'm wearing, visit links below: Two-Tone Knit Tie in Charcoal and Cognac Yellow Changeant Silk: https://gentl.mn/2kClnsJ Mohair Blue, Burgundy, Green and Yellow Silk Wool Medallion Pocket Square: https://gentl.mn/2kdf28A Do's and don'ts of inexpensive watches: Do think about what you would buy if money were no object. Once you have that, try to find something that looks somewhat similar or inspired by it in the low $100 region. Don't get something that looks something like a replica of an expensive or a well-known watch. To sum it up, don't buy a replica watch because it's not only illegal, but people can also see that it's not the real thing and don't buy something that just wants to look like it rather get something that's inspired by it. Do buy a slim and appropriately sized watch. Do buy a watch with a canvas band because it's very sporty and if you don't wear suits, it just suits the character of your outfit much better. Don't buy inexpensive, gold-plated watches because most of the time the gold plating is very thin and once it wears off, it looks extremely cheap. Instead, stick with stainless steel or other silver looking metals because they age much more gracefully. Do not buy a rubber band unless your watch is specifically dedicated for sports activities because otherwise, you are much more prone to sweating and it just looks inexpensive and cheap. Do inspect the leather straps on those watches because at that price point, you can't expect a super high-quality leather and when it's cheap and stiff, it may be uncomfortable to wear on your skin. Do buy the watches online because there's very little risk and they have a great assortment. Now, if you just have a $100, a really great way to score a relatively high-quality watch is to go vintage. The $100 watch is not an heirloom piece, but it's a great in between for when you're saving up for a better watch, or you just don't care enough about watches, and you want something that tells you time that looks presentable. Most watches in the $500-$1500 price range are overpriced so don't save up for those rather stay lower and go vintage or save for something that's more expensive than that. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Most Popular videos: How to accept a compliment - https://youtu.be/_EKXNmM1PUo 101 things that change when you dress up - https://youtu.be/JyGDd_iYaCI How to tie a Bow Tie - https://youtu.be/2I3cfa0BOOc --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Want to stay updated? Sign up here for free: https://gentl.mn/2h562fL Want to see more videos? Subscribe to our channel! https://www.youtube.com/user/thegentlemansgazette --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Gentleman's Gazette https://gentl.mn/2gG21Bm https://www.gentlemansgazette.com/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gentlemansgazette Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gentlemansgazette FREE EBOOK: https://gentl.mn/2h562fL
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (533)
OneCup (8 days ago)
Dallurs
João Victor Maia (8 days ago)
DW look good indeed but way overpriced
sene bii (9 days ago)
"The father of these simplistic watches is Daniel Wellington" Imma block this channel.
Ken Zaske (10 days ago)
You guys really missed the mark on this one.
DevInvest (11 days ago)
Invicta makes some gorgeous watches-with some nice Swiss & Japanese movements- And sorry, he’s contradicting himself showing large face watches - when in another video- he says only small face. Bad video for a channel I generally enjoy.
Ra's Al Ghul (13 days ago)
Alba
Klaatu Prime (13 days ago)
As someone that's collected wrist watches for almost 30 years, I would advise you to do a *lot* more research on this subject before attempting to present yourself as an authority. You know clothing and tailoring rather well, but as far as watches, you may want to consult with someone who is a bit more familiar with the subject matter.
Agentxphile (14 days ago)
Nope nope nope. Wrong vid wrong channel. This is the opposite of your shoe video. Instead of buying trash save up and buy one decent piece. Then you can strap it up to dress it up / down if you wish.
B ma (16 days ago)
Vostok watches
Ian Brinkley (22 days ago)
buy a seiko 5
Nathan Hunt (25 days ago)
I'm looking for a dressier watch for under $200. Opinions on MVTM, Vincero, and Citizen? I think their products look nice, but I'm unsure of their quality, et cetera.
Abisha Akmal (27 days ago)
Raphael, i love your videos. But after this one, sorry to say that i began to suspect u dont know much about horology Showing DW and saying IWC as a cheap metal bands. But, by all means, CMIIW
Catbus Driver (1 month ago)
So this is a "buy a China knockoff" guide. Why would I get a Wellington if I can get a 40€ China automatic that runs a few years? DW is already a pathetic brand, why not skip the branding entirely?
The_Rebel (25 days ago)
Why was I seeing Daniel Wellington coming? Another YouTuber that either doesn't understand anything about watches or is just an advertisement to this rubbish brand.... or both. Well my take on this, do not trust a guy wearing a baggy suit.
billy3287480 (1 month ago)
So Daniel Wellington over an IWC got it.........eye roll
Tamás Bene (1 month ago)
FYI 1. Daniel Wellington is rather a marketing company then an actual watchmaker. 2. Recommend not to buy cheap stainless steel banded watches, but did you really put an IWC in the video as an example? Gosh this channel is just garbage tbh.
Mary Cahill (1 month ago)
I have worn Timex watches all my life -- they are simple, reasonably priced, accurate, and functional. They tell the time! Having the second hand is handy for taking a pulse. Mine has a button to light up the watch at night -- very handy when outside at night or that alarm rings at 5 a.m.! I like the simplicity of it. At their prices, you could have 2 -- one with a striped band for away from work, sporty days etc., and one with a leather band for work and dress occasions. The money you save can go into your retirement fund. Re: cheap coloured metal -- paint it with clear nail polish, or clear acrylic floor wax, and it will hold up a lot longer.
Eoin Dowling (1 month ago)
Sven is an authority on Menswear... He knows nothing about watches however 🙄 For anyone watching; under no circumstances should you buy a Daniel Wellington
Kyle Pereira (1 month ago)
Please DONT buy a Daniel Wellington. They are of terrible quality and are very overpriced for what you are getting. I recommend brands like Timex, Seiko, Orient as well as many other brands with higher quality stuff than this one.
Ruby De La Fuente (1 month ago)
I was disappointed when he said Daniel Wellington
Philipp Ler (2 months ago)
Daniel Wellington is definetly not the father of simplistic design. If you want quality and simplicity, go for the Junghans Max Bill.
ged genil (2 months ago)
Daniel Wellington?! Good heavens
Darkwell0071 (2 months ago)
Really liked those smaller thin watches. I prefer a leather strap. The watch I wear is a Movado that is so old I can't remember what I paid for it.
George Grillo (2 months ago)
For the most part I have enjoyed all of these videos but the idea of spending more on a pair of socks or cufflinks than a timepiece, well, I can't agree. Not sure how one can argue that the quality in a Montblanc diplomat is highly desirable but a Bovet, not so much.
Danny P Shoggoth (2 months ago)
You look like your body doesn’t produce endorphins
Danny P Shoggoth (2 months ago)
You have a rohypnol smile
Robert Honan (2 months ago)
This video could be a lot shorter. Who really uses watches to tell time anymore? My iPhone is always on the right time, and far more trustworthy than any watch I've ever owned. The only time I ever wear a watch anymore is when I am actually dressing up, and a vintage pocket watch and chain is one of my accessories. While my iPhone may be more accurate, you look much better in a nice suit glancing at a nice pocket watch to get the time than you do glancing at your iPhone. It is also obvious that you are checking the time, and not seeing what's new on the Book of Faces.
Sebastian K. (2 months ago)
Vostok amphibia ftw
antibling (2 months ago)
G-shock/Timex Ironman is where it's at but if it has to be analog, try a Citizen Eagle 7.
Andhika Wibianto (2 months ago)
I love my raketa and lange.
Neil Crawford (2 months ago)
As with all things one is entitled to an opinion and all good for that...... But I have been of the option that Raphael really is not a watch person as I believe that in the past he has stated that he is not that keen on watches..... Raphael may not for all his style knowledge be the best person for a subject like this but is still entitled to an option.... all praise for him sticking his neck out and giving an opinion... I've have always enjoyed Raphaels videos even if I don't agree with them..... Raphael carry on the good work...
Kuba Wiśniewski (2 months ago)
Recomended DW then show IWC when talk about cheap watches. True Gentelman...
Barry Grimmett (2 months ago)
You spent 1,000.00 on a pen but 100 bucks on a watch? Makes no sense to me. A man isn’t dressed until a good watch is on his wrist.
Simon Bailey (2 months ago)
Good Grief, what is he on about? If you're looking for value I would recommend Hanova or Victorinox. Swiss-made (ish), stylish and available cheaply on eBay.
Monroe (2 months ago)
I wore a lot of thin titanium cased watches since titanium is gentler on your skin but the leather straps would dry out and get cracked due to sweat so I tried the apple watch. I didn't like how it was basically an extension of my phone rather than a nice piece to keep time with so I "invested" in a nice stainless steel automatic watch by Victorinox. $800 value but amazon had them for under $300 at "factory close out" prices. I checked and it's real too. Has a good bit of weight to it and I can see that the metal will age nicely. Can't go wrong with a simple/clean stainless steel watch!
Randall Stewart (2 months ago)
D Wellington MVMT and like watches are terrible values: a $15 Chinese watch movement in a $10 case, sold for $150. The finish will wear off in less than a year. Leather straps will rot. This fellow knows nothing of watches, cheap or expensive.
138boris (2 months ago)
IWC arent cheap!!
Jay Marcase (3 months ago)
I prefer the Apple Watch.
Mimo Vids (3 months ago)
This video is so wrong in many ways
thepassionofthegoose (3 months ago)
Seiko and Orient all day every day for sub-100USD watches, full stop. You will get a quality piece that a watch enthusiast will respect. The Seiko 5 you showed in the beginning is a great watch with history that can be had for around 75USD. Many collectors with very expensive Swiss and German watches have it and love it as much as their considerably more expensive pieces.
joegarcia54 (3 months ago)
Good luck finding a 40mm size watch now a days
SevenDeMagnus (2 months ago)
Cool. Thanks. Though if it's the pocket watch, the iPhone would do, hehe. But pocket watches look better, I like them more than any other kinds of watches. God bless, Proverbs 31
Juan Ramirez (3 months ago)
I have 4 citizens, a bulova, a burberry, and a seiko 5 lol. Love the seiko.
ClarktheK (3 months ago)
2:12 I gotta admit this part was hilarious.
Thomas Margolis (3 months ago)
How about the BASIC quality ? A 'fashion' watch with an inexpensive movement sold at much higher price point is a waste.There are options, notwithstanding marketing. You at bit pompous, or so you come across to me.
realrinat (3 months ago)
i wear Tissot, its cheap for swiss automatic watch
Andy F (3 months ago)
This guy is an imbecile . Daniel wellington... you would have to be on drugs to choose this brand
Zaxkz EstusChugger (4 months ago)
The fact that you brought a fashion brand into this means that you simply have no clue what you are talking about.
Magister Ludi (4 months ago)
I wanna stomp on this dude's face until he's dead. Then I want to hunt down his mother.
Pierre Steynberg (4 months ago)
Very good advice. Thank you.
Venkatesh Sathyasrinivas (4 months ago)
It’s more of a strap guide than a watch guide.
Venkatesh Sathyasrinivas (4 months ago)
Hey, Daniel Wellington didn’t start anything new. They copied Tissot design. I suggest you do proper research before advertising fashion watches that are useless. 150$ for that watch is a waste because it goes against your first point - don’t buy a look alike of authentic watches. Look up Tissot. DW is a copy of it.
Rafid hassan oney (4 months ago)
You can't say directly "Do not buy" ! Its obvious that tastes varies from person to person ! What u liked , may not be liked by others !
Tourist1967 (4 months ago)
Have a couple of Swiss Army watches for tougher outdoor conditions, No complaints.
Joao Lemos (4 months ago)
What about Lorus whatches?
America TheBeautiful (4 months ago)
Daniel chinatown watch.. I wouldn't wear one. I'd rather go with citizen eco drive or seiko 5 watches.
asdfkie (4 months ago)
i choked when u raised up the DW watch. disliked and skipped.
Rob C (5 months ago)
A pocket watch and fob/chain video would be great!
phoenix (5 months ago)
you got a dislike the moment words daniel wellington crossed your lips.
dnlapache (5 months ago)
C R I N G E .
Quentin Summers (5 months ago)
Gentlemen don't wear fashion watches.
Ashwin Dalela (5 months ago)
I dont think a g shock had to be there
smudger671 (5 months ago)
Don't buy a replica watch because people can see it. Not always, they can't - modern replicas are pretty damn good.
FrightfulAccountant (5 months ago)
Simplicity is boring. In this price range there is only one brand I will consider: Casio, their Edifice line. Great build quality, long lasting and they just look so damn cool! And F1 drivers wear them ;-)
DumbButFunny (5 months ago)
Invictas are AMAZING quality. They are really well made Swiss watches. I'm not sure what that little comment was about
Roberto Mendoza Zarate (5 months ago)
Better of don’t buy them! Ha
Franz Jäger (5 months ago)
did you just promote Daniel Wellington??? Otherwise, great channel... I can forgive ;)
AlmostSober (5 months ago)
I don't need "looks good" I just need a Slide Rule Bezel on anything not battery operated.
George Yang (5 months ago)
Yikes! Showing a ❌ while showing an image of an IWC Fleiger because it's hefty? That's a nearly $10k watch Sven, not some cheapo!
Saadat Hussain (5 months ago)
Nothing personal, you may know fashion but you clearly do not know about watches
Albert Tran (5 months ago)
Hmm, been wearing Casio watches for years with no durability problems
Oougie Lain (5 months ago)
Makes video about good watches that most likely Younger more inexperienced will view * Shows a Daniel Wellington* NEVER BUY DANIEL WELLINGTON. Try Timex, Seiko and Orient
Matthew Yee (5 months ago)
Please don't buy a Daniel Wellington or an Invicta. Rather go for a Seiko or vintage Omega, Universal Geneve, or Girard Perregaux.
sillyninja65 (5 months ago)
you zoom in way too much
ChadillacTV (5 months ago)
I’m a fan of that gshock he said don’t buy...
littlepucchini (5 months ago)
The funny thing is: Smartphones have become the new pocket watch.
BeanFresquez (5 months ago)
i have an asarco gold with a white face and black leather strap
jacc88888 (5 months ago)
Better to get a Rodina or Rider if you want a Bauhaus watch rather than a DW. Ok they are Chinese made still but at least they are mechanical and a bit more interesting.
Walter White (5 months ago)
Invicta is making Rolex-homages, not replicas
Animal FightsTM (6 months ago)
2:17 looks dope
Avg. Joe Watch Reviews (6 months ago)
I own a Sturhling. Decent watch at this price point.
operamatt (6 months ago)
DW absolutely is not the father of the bauhaus style of watches. they were popular in the 1930’s and have been relevant since
Shadman Hasan (6 months ago)
mtg cheap quality? lmao
I must say I've always had good luck with watches, I just got an early 1900's Longines pocket watch for about a hundred dollars. I really recommend going for vintage rather than buying something from a not-well-known maker or with a low quality construction.
Raul Saavedra (6 months ago)
I have owned a couple of Timex watches, I think they are great value and look great, in particular that blue glow! My only nitpick about Timex is that their tick-tack sound is particularly loud. In fact so loud that in general I cannot sleep wearing my Timex watch, I have to take it off and put it far away, or under a cloth if nearby, to dampen the sound. If Timex made their watches slightly less noisy, it would be a marvel of a pretty much flawless bargain
jharris947 (6 months ago)
Quality vintage watches for under $100?...Where?, Where?, Where? The best value and quality watches under £100 are from the Seiko 5 range.
Eric Bushman (7 months ago)
another classy video
max factor (7 months ago)
you don't know anything about watches
MIND MILK (7 months ago)
We all like expensive looking watches... no, no we don’t.
edwong3 (7 months ago)
Some balanced and realistic thoughts on Daniel Wellington. I see the same ignorant comments on every video that brand is mentioned. The retail selling price of a quartz watch is almost always marked up 8 to 15 times or more the cost of the movement so that there is a margin adequate enough to cover raw materials, manufacturing, marketing, customer service, legal, employees, office space, insurance, etc. If anyone of you thinks that it is just a matter of slapping in a cheap movement and adding a couple of bucks more, and you can sell and support a real company, I have news for you. You don't know Jack! Daniel Wellington watches uses Miyota movements. The movement alone costs $12 so that shoots down the claim that you can get one for $2-3 on Alibaba. DW's cases and backs are 316L stainless steel while the fakes use chrome plated tin. The crystal used on the authentic DW is mineral while the fakes use plastic or plain glass. And finally, the real DW use genuine leather bands while the cheap knockoffs imitation leather which sometimes is a form of vinyl printed to look like it is real. Unlike the real product, the plastic bands feel stiff and can be a little uncomfortable in warm weather. I don't own any DW myself but have examined a couple personally, and whether it is worth what they sell for is up to the end user to decide, not a bunch of "watch expert" wannabes who have no freedom of thought. Nine times out of ten, it is not the watch brand or its "horological history" or lack-there-of or even the price. It is how it makes a person feel when the put it on and the enjoyment of glancing down at their wrist and liking what they see. And just so that you all know, I agree that brands like Seiko and Orient are fantastic watches but are not the "holy grail" either. Even then, they offer great value for the money but not everyone wants to buy one. If you fanboys think the world is the way you imagine it to be and no other way, I have some news for you. Just my two cents for what it is worth.
someone forgot to shave
Juan Garcia (7 months ago)
Iwc is not cheap its high quality 1,000,000 times better than dw Seiko 5 or timex
*Great Presentation , I agree with most of them , looking forward to more content from this channel in the near future*
Jonathan Mcnicke (8 months ago)
Buy an Orient bambino, they are a great watch with a Japanese in house automatic moment and classic styling. DW watches are very poorly made and only cost a few Dollars to manufacture.
Maximilian Hans (8 months ago)
in your other videos you often talk about brand heritage and the history behind certain items. thats why i was really surprised that you suggested getting these cheap watches like DW, stührling or something like that. imho if you can't / don't want to spend over a 100 bucks on a watch, go vintage or get one of the cheaper seikos. i bought a vintage junghans quartz watch 2 years ago for about 10€ and it still serves me well. to anyone looking for a suggestions on watches on buying watches on a budget i would recommend checking out the channel 'the urban gentry' - he has a nice collection of videos on low budget watches.
Peter Mount (8 months ago)
Are Bergmann watches still being made? The last time I looked, they seem to have disappeared from Amazon.
Golden Tree (8 months ago)
Many Russian watches
Julius Bawasanta (8 months ago)
what do you think about an Orient Bambino?
Carlos Tuitt (8 months ago)
Where do you buy your vintage pieces?
neil piper (8 months ago)
Parnis Bauhaus look watches.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.